Super Bowl LV MVP Candidates Not at the Quarterback Position

Super Bowl LV is just a few days away and people are already placing their bets on who is going to win Super Bowl LV MVP. People are obviously either going to bet on Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes or Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady.

The quarterback usually wins the award year in and year out. It is very rare for other position players to win the award. The last non-quarterback to win the award was Denver Broncos outside linebacker Von Miller in Super Bowl 50 against the Carolina Panthers.

Who has the best possible chance to win Super Bowl LV MVP that isn’t either Patrick Mahomes or Tom Brady?

Tyreek Hill

Hill is one of the fastest and most talented wide receivers in the NFL. The last time the Kansas City Chiefs and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers faced each other, Hill torched Carlton Davis. Tyreek Hill had 13 receptions for 269 yards receiving and three touchdowns in that football game. Hill can make his input on this football game in Super Bowl LV.

He can also return kicks and punts, but that duty usually belongs to Mecole Hardman Jr. these days. Hill can also run with the football on reverses or double reverses. It will be interesting to see if Tyreek Hill is able to repeat the same performance he had in Week 12 against them, in that 27-24 regular-season victory.

Travis Kelce

Kelce may be the best tight end in the NFL today. He plays the position like a wide receiver. Travis Kelce may be asked to block more often because of the injuries on the offensive line. In the last matchup, he had eight receptions for 82 yards receiving in the win.

Some people think that Kelce is the best tight end who could ever play this football game, but I’m sorry to break it to you that category belongs to Rob Gronkowski. Travis Kelce will still have an effect on this football game. He will also have an impact in Super Bowl LV.

Jason Pierre-Paul

If the Tampa Bay Buccaneers are going to win their first Super Bowl title since 2002, they are going to have to frustrate Patrick Mahomes and the offense. Pierre-Paul can wreak havoc on a game at any moment, especially in Super Bowl LV.

He sacked Aaron Rodgers twice in the NFC Championship Game against the Green Bay Packers. Jason Pierre-Paul is the heartbeat of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

He already won a Super Bowl with the New York Giants against the New England Patriots. Pierre-Paul will be lined up on Mike Remmers, who allowed Miller to go off in Super Bowl L. Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ defensive coordinator Todd Bowles will move Jason Pierre-Paul all over the place.

Mike Evans

Evans is one of the most underrated wide receivers in the NFL. He has gone over 1,000 yards receiving in each of his first seven seasons. Mike Evans usually doesn’t drop any passes and he shouldn’t in Super Bowl LV. In the loss earlier this season, he only caught three passes but also had 50 yards receiving and two touchdowns.

Evans will most likely not be double-teamed because of the other weapons Tampa Bay has on the offensive side of the football like Chris Godwin, Antonio Brown, Scott Miller, Rob Gronkowski, Cameron Brate, Rob Gronkowski, Ronald Jones II, and Leonard Fournette.

If I had to bet on any order in who will be Super Bowl LV MVP other than the quarterbacks, it would be 1. Travis Kelce 2. Tyreek Hill 3. Jason Pierre-Paul and 4. Mike Evans.

Who do you think is going to win the Super Bowl LV MVP at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa Bay, Florida, that is not a quarterback? Leave a comment below.

Finish a winner with IroniqMedia for all of your NFL coverage here.

Follow Glenn Kaplan on Twitter @glennkaplan13.

Facebook Comments:
%d bloggers like this: