MLB: Preseason Awards for the 2020 Regular Season

It’s not going to be long until the MLB season begins. Teams will finally start their playoff pursuits on July 23 or July 24. There will be 60 games and players will report to respective teams come July 1. Also, each season usually has award winners.

So, who will win each award for the American League and National League? Also, with no All-Star Game this season, who will be some of the respective All-Stars?

American League MVP

Mike Trout, OF, Los Angeles Angels: This is an easy choice here. Trout is going to lead his team back to the playoffs for the first time since 2014 with a loaded lineup and a stacked team. He is the heart and soul of this team. Trout will continue to be the best player in the game.

American League Manager of the Year

Joe Maddon, Los Angeles Angels: He is a very good manager and won the World Series with the Chicago Cubs in 2016. Maddon will get the best of out his players in his first year as manager. One of the most underrated hires he made was hiring pitching coach Mickey Callaway. He fixed the Cleveland Indians rotation overnight and he just didn’t fit well with the New York Mets managerial role.

American League Cy Young Winner

Tyler Glasnow, Tampa Bay Rays: The starting rotation is one of the strengths of this ball club. Tampa Bay made it to the playoffs last year because of it. Glasnow has popped ever since he left the Pittsburgh Pirates.

American League Rookie of the Year Winner

Luis Robert, OF, Chicago White Sox: Robert is going to play a big role for the Chicago White Sox in the outfield this season with Eloy Jimenez as well, who also played well in his rookie season.

National League MVP

Juan Soto, OF, Washington Nationals: With Anthony Rendon now gone (the All-Star third baseman who left for the Los Angeles Angels in free agency) the Nats will need to rely on Soto more than ever. Soto is a solid player. He gets a lot of things done. The 21-year-old provides energy and is proven to be clutch. He is the heartbeat of this team. If Soto gets injured, the Washington Nationals will be in big trouble.

National League Manager of the Year

David Bell, Cincinnati Reds: The Cincinnati Reds are turning the corner and they could very well win the National League Central this season. Cincinnati has three solid players in the starting rotation in Trevor Bauer, Luis Castillo, and Sonny Gray. Joey Votto, Mike Moustakas, Nicholas Castellanos, Aristides Aquino, and Eugenio Suarez are some of the key bats in the lineup. The Chicago Cubs, St. Louis Cardinals, and Milwaukee Brewers are also very good teams. Cincinnati will not have to worry about the Pittsburgh Pirates. The Reds have not been to the playoffs since 2013-2014.

National League Cy Young Winner

Jacob deGrom, New York Mets: Jacob deGrom may have an under 1.00 ERA this season and we will see if he could have another excellent season. Jacob deGrom is one of the best pitchers in baseball right now. He has won the Cy Young in back-to-back seasons and I would not be surprised if it happened once again.

National League Rookie of the Year

Cristian Pache, OF, Atlanta Braves: There is always a rookie on the Atlanta Braves that seems to pop every year for them. Pache maybe relied upon right away with no minor league season potentially and he could be a major factor right away.

They also have another outfielder waiting in the wings and that’s Drew Waters. Pache, Waters, and Ronald Acuna Jr. will potentially be a scary outfield for years to come in Atlanta.

My All-Stars for the 2020 season starters edition: American League: (C) Gary Sanchez (NYY) (1B) Matt Olson (OAK) (2B) Jose Altuve (HOU) (SS) Carlos Correa (HOU) (3B) Anthony Rendon (LAA) (OF) Mike Trout (LAA) (OF) George Springer (HOU) (OF) Max Kepler (MIN) (DH) J.D. Martinez (BOS). SP: Blake Snell (TB), Tyler Glasnow (TB), Justin Verlander (HOU), Gerrit Colt (NYY), and Shane Beiber (CLE). Closer: Liam Hendriks (OAK).

National League: (C) J.T. Realmuto (PHI) (1B) Freddie Freeman (ATL) (2B) Ozzie Albies (ATL) (SS) Javier Baez (CHC) (3B) Nolan Arenado (COL) (OF) Christian Yelich (MIL) (OF) Juan Soto (WSH) (OF) Ronald Acuna Jr. (ATL) (DH) Pete Alonso (NYM). SP: Jacob deGrom (NYM), Max Scherzer (WSH), Stephen Strasburg (WSH), Mike Soroka (ATL), and Walker Buehler (LAD). Closer: Kenley Jansen (LAD).

What do you think of my preseason award picks and All-Star starter picks for the 2020 regular season for the MLB? Leave a comment below.

Throw a perfect game with IroniqMedia for all of your MLB coverage.

Follow Glenn Kaplan on Twitter @glennkaplan13.



Facebook Comments:
%d bloggers like this: