MLB: Who Wins Each of the Three 10-Team Divisions?

There have been talks about the MLB turning its six divisions into three 10-team divisions. It’s an eye-brow raiser, to say the least, but who would wind up winning each of those divisions?

Today I will dive into the East, West, and Central divisions and who knows maybe that possible realignment takes place this summer.

Without further delay let’s figure out which teams would claim the three division titles.

East Division

This will be a fun group to watch and most likely the most entertaining out of the 10-team divisions this year.

As someone who is all too familiar with New York, Boston, Pittsburgh, and Philly sports teams and their fans, I am sure people will be licking their chops due to the chance of having bragging rights.

Philadelphia Phillies fans want revenge after their team lost to the New York Yankees two summers ago.

Seeing the Pittsburgh Pirates take on the Boston Red Sox automatically brings that old school feel. After all, both franchises were in the very first World Series in 1903.

Despite the hype surrounding these four cities possibly witnessing their clubs go head-to-head and sharing a division, I believe Tampa Bay will capture the division crown.

From Blake Snell, Charlie Morton, and Tyler Glasnow leading the rotation, it’s hard to imagine the Rays coming up short.

Tampa was an excellent baseball team last year and was 96-66 while finishing second in the AL East.

Yes, I know the Yankees should be pretty healthy, but their rotation will be without Luis Severino, and James Paxton is coming off an injury himself.

Gerrit Cole and Masahiro Tanaka will need help if the Yanks want to win another division title.

Tampa also added to its lineup by bringing in Manuel Margot, Hunter Renfroe, and Yoshitomo Tsutsugo.

West Division

This is a no-doubter for me.

This was the easiest of the 10-team divisions to predict.

The Los Angeles Dodgers will win this division due to their deadly lineup, which includes Mookie Betts, Cody Bellinger, and Max Muncy.

The rotation will need to have Clayton Kershaw, Walker Buehler, and David Price pitching at a high level, collectively in order to reach the World Series again.

Oakland should finish in second place and with Houston dealing with distractions and some big changes this offseason I would expect them to take a step back in 2020.

Central Division

The 10-team divisions would add extra competition and hopefully make each team better.

In the case of the Central, I expect St. Louis and Atlanta to play high-quality baseball if their pitching steps up.

However, I think ultimately the Minnesota Twins will take the cake and win another division.

I applaud the Twins for being aggressive in the offseason and acquiring slugger Josh Donaldson, Kenta Maeda, and Rich Hill.

Minnie has plenty of youth in its batting order and some veterans who can mash the baseball.

The rotation should be better this year and Jose Berrios could be a Cy Young candidate.

How do you think the 10-team divisions will shape up? Leave a comment below.

Launch a homer to right field with IroniqMedia for all of your MLB coverage.

Follow Fiuza on Twitter @MakinItBig1

Facebook Comments:
Anthony Fiuza

1 comment

%d bloggers like this: