San Jose Sharks Get A Controversial 5-4 Overtime Win

Well, here we go again. The San Jose Sharks get another controversial playoff win. Although instead of looking at the miss opportunities the St. Louis Blues had to close out the game or the missed penalties that led to some St. Louis goals, everyone will have a short memory and blame the one big call in the game. Backing up for a bit, the Blues came out strong in this game. The team had a solid first 10 minutes with a few quality scoring chances. However, the Sharks got through the push and end up having a 2-0 lead after 1 period, on goals by Erik Karlsson and Joe Thornton.


The Blues came out hard again in the second and were able to get on the board. Then Thornton put the Sharks back up by 2 just 18 seconds later and things settled for a bit. Out of nowhere, Vladimir Tarasenko got an amazing wrist shot goal to make it 3-2. From there, the Blues had spring in their step again. Now behind the Sharks net, the Blues David Perron had an obvious delay of gameplay into the Sharks netting. The refs missed the call and look what happens; instead of Perron going to the penalty box, he scores the next 2 goals for the St. Louis Blues. Funny how people forget that the calls go both ways in a game and this non-call was a huge momentum boost, and the turning point for the Blues.

So, the Sharks were down 4-3 in the third and didn’t show much of an attack at all. They looked tired and Martin Jones bailed his team out with at least 3 stops on Grade A chances for St. Louis. During an empty net time, the Blues barely missed the net a couple of times and it costed them. The Sharks Logan Couture scores inside the goalie crease, with just under a minute left, and just like that, the game was tied at 4.

In overtime, the Blues had 2 great scoring chances and the Sharks had 1. Then about 5 minutes into the game, controversy strikes again for team teal. Timo Meier is tripped near the side of the net and no call there apparently. Next, as he is falling down, he tries to bat down the puck. It looks like it may have hit his forearm. From there, it goes to the Sharks Gustav Nyquist, who then passes it to Karlsson, and Karlsson scores.

Now the hand pass rule is, you can’t pass the puck to a teammate with your glove. If a player does, the referee stops play and there is a faceoff. However, the rule also says if a player deliberately knocks the puck down then it’s a hand pass. Meier knocked the puck down as he was falling. Also, the puck skimmed Jay Bouwmeester’s shin and that negates the play as well.

All in all, games come full circle sometimes. The St. Louis Blues got away with a lot of dirty hits in this game and the delay of game call swung their favor big time and yet people want to say the Sharks stole this one. At the end of the day, blame the refs. However, don’t hate on the Sharks for seizing these opportunities. Especially ones that they receive in the playoffs. San Jose stole this game late in the third, they have 2-1 series lead, and Game 4 is Friday.

Do you feel like the San Jose Sharks are getting lucky wins? Leave a comment below.

Stay with IroniqMedia for all of your NHL coverage.

Follow Michael on Twitter @MikeGaraven310.

Facebook Comments:
Michael Garaventa
%d bloggers like this: