Tampa Bay Lightning: The 2019 Presidents’ Trophy Winner

The Tampa Bay Lightning continue to break records at the season ends. Last night they locked up the Presidents’ Trophy. The trophy is given to the team that has the most points. This is the first time that the Lightning has won the trophy. The Lightning has 9 games left. The point total that they have now can grow. The Lightning has also clinched the number one overall spot in the Eastern Conference playoff picture.

The Lightning captured the trophy after a 4-1 win over the Phoenix Coyotes. In this win, there was also another Lightning franchise record broken. Captain Steven Stamkos with his goal became the franchise leader for the Lightning. He now has 384 goals surpassing Vincent Lecavalier. Lecavalier himself sent out a message to Stamkos today saying that he was proud of him. He said the best part is that he considers him a great teammate and friend.

The Lightning has been a dominant team since the start of the season. Most people and this writer believe that this might be a second Stanley Cup for the Lightning. The team overall has been solid in all areas. However, they have overcome injuries and have set multiple records. The question is whether this team is better than the 2004 team?

The 2004 team didn’t win the Presidents’ Trophy. This team has. The only team that can beat them going into the playoffs in themselves. The one problem that seems to occur is the Lightning giving up leads. This has not happened recently. Another reason that they can beat themselves is to have a longer series. If they can end series in say 4 or 5 games, it will help them in the long run.

The President’s Trophy has had what they call a curse. In fact, most of the teams that won it have not gone on to win the Stanley Cup. Let’s hope that isn’t the case for the Tampa Bay Lightning.

What are your thoughts on the Lightning winning the Presidents’ Trophy? Leave a comment below
For all your NHL news log on to IroniqMedia.
For more follow me on Twitter @bradwalker3083 and Facebook.

Facebook Comments:
Bradley Walker


%d bloggers like this: